Sponsor spot now open! After 3 years Fire & ice is looking for a new sponsor!

Information On Becoming a Sponsor



PageRank


Ambrosia's bookshelf: currently-reading

The Temptation of the Night Jasmine
tagged: currently-reading
At the King's Pleasure
tagged: currently-reading

goodreads.com


Rating System:
Don't Bother

Photobucket It's okay but could miss it

Photobucket Worth a Read

Photobucket Great book Read it.

Photobucket Must Read!

2016 Reading Challenge

2016 Reading Challenge
Ambrosia has read 0 books toward her goal of 50 books.
hide

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner





Follow on Bloglovin











Visit Book Blogs


I Am A Reader, Not A Writer
.



 
May
23

Musing Monday is hosted over at Books and a Beat.

Musing Monday asks you to choose one of the following prompts to answer each week…

I’m currently reading…
Up next I think I’ll read…
I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
I can’t wait to get a copy of…
I wish I could read ___, but…
I blogged about ____ this past week.

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION: Name a book you thought you wouldn’t like, but ended up loving.

Twilight. Honestly I love the series. I know it is not the best written series of books ever and the idea of sparkling vampires is laughable and the fight scene that never happens is like COME ON, but honestly I still love the books. The story that it is trying to tell is good and I really love a lot of the supporting characters like Jasper and Carlisle. I would love to have learned more about them and have their stories fleshed out better. I really did think I would hate the series but I didn’t.


May
16

Musing Monday is hosted over at Books and a Beat.

Musing Monday asks you to choose one of the following prompts to answer each week…

I’m currently reading…
Up next I think I’ll read…
I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
I can’t wait to get a copy of…
I wish I could read ___, but…
I blogged about ____ this past week.

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION: What do you think is the most overrated book?

50 shades of grey and all of it’s little buddies. Seriously I do not understand how so many women can just LOVE that book. It is just so BAD, the writing is just bad. I read them and while I found them somewhat enjoyable (and it was probably just because I was laughing at how bad) the first time, the second time (why did I read them again?) they were just BAD.

It also gives a very very bad look at BDSM, which already gets a bad wrap by people who don’t understand it. BDSM is not about stalking, it is not about controlling every single part of someones life and it is not about being abusive. If Christian Grey was a poor guy who dressed in ratty jeans and a t-shirt I doubt so many women would be cooing and drooling all over him. But because he is a Billionaire who dresses in nice suits he’s, “hot” and “misunderstood”, sorry but nope. Just nope.

I may have been a little bit fierce this week in my reply but it has been one of those days.


May
01

Everyone knows about guitars and drums but how many people have heard of Strumsticks? The Strumstick is a relatively new instrument in the realm of music, it was invented in 1981 by Bob McNally and was designed as a different version of the Backpacker Guitar. The strumstick is essentially a version of the The Stringed Pennywhistle and is truly a different and fun instrument for those who love something different when it comes to music. Stretch your imagination and play a bit check out the Strumstick!


May
01

Nothing in her cultured East Coast upbringing prepared Elizabeth for a teaching position on the Canadian frontier. Yet, despite the constant hardships, she loves the children in her care. Determined to do the best job she can and fighting to survive the harsh land, Elizabeth is surprised to find her heart softening towards a certain member of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police. Book 1 of the bestselling Canadian West series.

I was encouraged by the Hallmark Movie and then the series When calls the heart to pick up the books they were based on. After all most of the time the book is better then the movie right? I think in this case they are both very good. When calls the heart is a read that I really enjoyed. While I am not be of the same faith as Elizabeth and her lovely Mounty I can understand and respect the faith they have. When you embark on a new adventure no matter what you believe in you have to have some kind of faith to really believe you can do it. I plan on reading more in the series this book was full of enjoyable characters who you really feel like you can embrace yourself in. There is nothing quite as great when it comes to books as a cast of characters you feel you really know, characters you feel you could be sitting next to and eating with.

My Gemstone Rating:

Photobucket


Apr
29

One of the best things about being a musician today is the ability to work in studio space in your own home. It seems like anyone with a good computer and the right tools can produce something right at home. What a wonderful time to live in! Seriously who doesn’t love more music? One of those tools that is great for producing comes from Guitar center, it is reasonably priced and works great this item is the: presonus studiolive 24.4.2. If you are looking for a good mix board this is the right one for you head on over and check it out.


Apr
26

Teaser Tuesday is here again!

Teaser Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along with Teaser Tuesday! Just do the following:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

I have been a bad blogged and lost in crochet once again. I have created and outdoor space for myself to crochet in and well I have been enjoying it to much. I plan on making myself a better schedule to stick to to make sure I not only blog (I do love blogging really) but that I read some of my hard copy books instead of just listening on the kindle!

Now to your regularly scheduled Teaser.

“Far as I knew, closest she’d gotten to art was a drafting table and dressing mannequins in store windows, and the closest I’d gotten to saving the world was my name on some petitions, for everything from recycling aluminum cans to saving the whales. I put my cans in the trash now, and I didn’t know how the whales we’re doing.”
― Joe R. Lansdale, Savage Season


Mar
28

Musing Monday is hosted over at Books and a Beat.

Musing Monday asks you to choose one of the following prompts to answer each week…

I’m currently reading…
Up next I think I’ll read…
I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
I can’t wait to get a copy of…
I wish I could read ___, but…
I blogged about ____ this past week.

I have no idea what to pull up on my Kindle next. I once again want to slip into the comfort of the Dresden series but I know I should probably focus on something else. Can’t blame me for being attached Dresden is a lovely guy. In geektastic news the voice of Dresden is going to be at Phoenix Comic con so ya know. *nerd reaction here* I really should probably give Mozart’s last Aria it’s due and finish it but I want to crochet. Choices. Choices.


Mar
22

Teaser Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along with Teaser Tuesday! Just do the following:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

I really must stop crocheting long enough to actually sit and read this..lol

Award-winning author Matt Rees takes readers to 18th centuryAustria, where Mozart’s estranged sister Nannerl stumblesinto a world of ambition, conspiracy, and immortal music while attempting touncover the truth about her brother’s suspicious death. Did Mozart’s life endin murder? Nannerl must brave dire circumstances tofind out, running afoul of the secret police, the freemasons, and even theAustrian Emperor himself as she delves into a scandal greater than she had everimagined. With captivating historical details, compelling characters, and areal-life mystery upon which everything hinges, Rees—the award-winning authorof the internationally acclaimed Omar Yussefcrime series—writes in the tradition of Irvin Yalom’sWhen Nietzsche Wept, Louis Bayard’s The Pale Blue Eye, andPhillip Sington’s The Einstein Girl to achievethe very best in historical fiction with Mozart’s Last Aria.


Mar
07

Musing Monday is hosted over at Books and a Beat.

Musing Monday asks you to choose one of the following prompts to answer each week…

I’m currently reading…
Up next I think I’ll read…
I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
I can’t wait to get a copy of…
I wish I could read ___, but…
I blogged about ____ this past week.

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION: Which characters (from which book) do you think deserve their own spin-off story? Why?

This one could cover a lot of different characters for me. I read a lot of books and I tend to fall in love with characters who are not always the main one. I am going to fall back on my Twilight fan phase and say that I think Jasper and Alice should have had their own spin off book. Jasper was the second oldest vampire in the family, he was in the Civil War and that always got glossed over like no big deal. Come on Folks I WANT TO KNOW MORE. I love history and there is a big story there. Alice can see the future, we aren’t going to look into that more? REALLY? I know it is because the author herself was obsessed with her main characters but man oh man I still would like to see a proper well written spin off.


Mar
01

Teaser Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along with Teaser Tuesday! Just do the following:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

“[F]or just one second, look at your life and see how perfect it is. Stop looking for the next secret door that is going to lead you to your real life. Stop waiting. This is it: there’s nothing else. It’s here, and you’d better decide to enjoy it or you’re going to be miserable wherever you go, for the rest of your life, forever.”
― Lev Grossman, The Magicians

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Older posts


 

Copyright © 2013-2014 - All Rights Reserved // Fire & Ice is Powered by WordPress with a theme designed and coded by Nique Creations